Yes, it’s a list. Of books. #topreads2015

I’ve 21b36-asking2bfor2bit2bholding2bimageread over 50 new books this year. And re-read at least ten, or dipped back into certain stories. I listened to only six because it takes hours and sometimes the narrator is all wrong.

For the first time in my life, I gave myself a pass. If I don’t like by a quarter of the way in, put it aside. If the characters, world, plot or premise worm their way into my mind, I pick it up again. I used that pass too many times to count and don’t regret it.14 Brilliant Friend

My reading year has been wonderful, and hence the same is true for HH. He prefers music, but he does like stories. So when I’m excited by a book, I tell him the entire plot, evoking background, personalities, landscapes and dramatic moments, usually over dinner with the added suspense of waving my fork around.

Zappas-Mams-a-Slapper-CoverSuch treasures come via the most trusted route – word-of-mouth. All the books I’ve loved were tips from friends. Every last one was a diamond and often a discovery I would never have made. Two aren’t even published yet.

All my recommendations (and of the rest of the review team) can be found on Bookmuse. Each review has suggested ideal accompaniments for your reading pleasure.La Frontera

all the lightBut now, here are my top reads this year, by genre.

Literary: All The Light We Cannot See – Anthony Doerr

Historical: The Better of Two Men – JD Smith

Contemporary/YA: Asking For It – Louise O’Neill

In Translation: My Brilliant Friend – Elena Ferrante

TBOTM cover

Coming-of-Age: Zappa’s Mam’s A Slapper – John Lynch

CrimStalin's Englishmane: La Frontera – Sam Hawken

Non-fiction: Stalin’s Englishman – Andrew Lownie

 

Join us on Twitter later today (19.30 GMT) for our Triskele Twitter Chat #triskeletuesday #topreads2015

Share yours, argue with ours or find additions to your wishlist.

See you there.

 

 

